Our Vice President Prof. Serkan Eryılmaz Was Honored by TUBITAK Incentive Award

Granted by TUBITAK every year, Science, Special, Service and Incentive Awards were given by the President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan in the ceremony held at the Presidential Palace. Our Vice President Prof. Serkan Eryılmaz was granted a reward in the field of “Engineering Sciences” under “Science Awards” category.

Emphasizing his belief in the continuation of this tradition by getting more prestigious as it has been in the past half century, Erdogan reminded in his speech that 4 Science Awards and 11 Incentive Awards were given this year. President Erdogan congratulated all rewarded scientists and wished them success in their future studies. He also congratulated Chairperson of TUBITAK Prof. A. Arif Ergin, his team and the members of TUBITAK Science Board because of their sensibility in the determination of award winners. “I especially would like to indicate that we expect greater successes that will lead the science world and pave the way of our country for development” said President Erdogan. 

Minister of Science, Industry and Technology, Faruk Özlü emphasized the fact the awareness of civilization is the most important mainstay in science and technology.

Chairperson of TUBITAK, Prof. A. Arif Ergin mentioned some of the projects in which he took part as an engineer. He also indicated that the leadership and guidance of the government and sincere supports of relevant organizations proved the value of these projects.

The prize winners in the ceremony are as follows:

Prof. Reşat Apak from Istanbul University and Assoc. Prof. F. Ömer İlday from Bilkent University in the field of “Basic Sciences”; Prof. Ömer Civalek from Akdeniz University in the Field of “Engineering Sciences” and Prof. Sumru Altuğ from Koç University in “Social Sciences” under “Science Awards” category.

Prof. Şule Ertan Ela, Assoc. Prof. Filiz Kuralay, Assoc Prof. Önder Metin in “Basic Sciences”; Prof. Serkan Eryılmaz, Assoc. Prof. Vehbi Çağrı Güngör, Assoc. Prof. Tuğba Ölmez Hancı, Assoc. Prof Cem Sevik, Prof. Ali Rıza Yıldız in “Engineering Sciences” and Assoc. Prof. Reşat Bayer, Assoc. Prof. Seda Ertaç Güler and Assoc. Prof. Ebru Kaya in “Social Sciences” under “Incentive Awards” category.


About Prof. Serkan Eryılmaz

Field: Statistics

He was honored by Science Incentive Award thanks to his highly qualified studies on system reliability in the field of stochastic models/processes in operations research.

Born in Ankara on 10 February 1978, Serkan ERYILMAZ graduated from the Department of Statistics, Faculty of Sciences, Ankara University in 1999 as the top student of the Faculty. Between 1999 and 2002, he served as a Research Assistant in the Department of Statistics, Ankara University from which he received his master degree in 2000 and doctoral degree (PhD) in 2002. Becoming Associate Professor in 2004 and Professor in 2009, Serkan ERYILMAZ is now serving as Vice President and instructor in the Department of Industrial Engineering at Atilim University.

Serkan ERYILMAZ studied at Manitoba University (Canada) and Durham University (England) as a visiting scholar and conducted various scientific studies along with foreign researchers studying abroad.  Carrying out research on system reliability, probability and stochastic processes, stochastic models in operations research, Serkan ERYILMAZ has written a large number of articles which are published in internationally accepted journals and cited by other researchers. Serkan ERYILMAZ has published a number of articles on the evaluation of advanced probability and stochastic processes techniques within the scope of system reliability and the use of these techniques in the reliability analysis of engineering systems consisting of dependent components.

Between 2013 and 2016, he worked as “Associate Editor” in IEEE Transactions on Reliability which is one of the leading journals in the field, and is currently serving as “Area Editor” in IISE Transactions and involved in editorial boards of various international journals.

He is acting as the committee president of European Safety and Reliability Association which is one of the most important international organizations in the fields of Safety and Reliability in terms of its number of members and activities. He also took part in science and technique program committees of the most prestigious international scientific meetings in the field of reliability.