"Engineering in the 100th Year of the Republic, and the Engineers of the New Century” Brings Together the University and the Industry...

Atılım University School of Engineering brought together expert academicians, sector representatives, and out students to discuss the progression and the future of engineering within the scope of the events to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of our Republic.

Among the attendees were Mr. Yalçın Zaim, the Chairperson of AU Board of Trustees; Board of Trustees Members Mrs. Zerlin Zaim, Mr. Dinçer Özer; President Prof. Dr. Serkan Eryılmaz, Vice Presidents Prof. Dr. Uğur Baç and Prof. Dr. Veli Cengiz Özalp, Deans, Heads of Departments, our academic and administrative personnel, and our students. The opening speeches by Dean Prof. Dr. Yılser Devrim, and President Prof. Dr. Serkan Eryılmaz inaugurated the event.

In the first half of the hybrid event that took place on Wednesday, November 1, 2023, at Kemal Zaim Sunel Conference Hall; Prof. Dr. Bilgin Kaftanoğlu, one of the key people in his field in Türkiye, gave his presentation titled “The Past, the Present, and the Future of Engineering”.

In the first session that took place in the second half of the event, industry representatives from Türkiye took the floor.

Moderated by Prof. Dr. Yılser Devrim, the Dean of AU School of Engineering, the session saw a discussion on “The Role of Engineers in Industry and Technology in the New Century”, in which Mr. Cenk Önen, Assistant General Manager for Roketsan Advanced Technologies and Systems; Alper Kalaycı, Chairperson of Energy Industrialists and Businessmen Association; Melih Şahin, Nurol Makina Assistant General Manager for Operations; and Levent Tanrıdağ, Ayesaş Assistant General Manager for Technical Groups participated.  

The event lasted a full day, and in the last session, a panel titled “The Engineers of the New Century”, again moderated by Dean Prof. Dr. Yılser Devrim, took place; with our valuable School of Engineering academicians Prof. Dr. Nafiz Alemdaroğlu, Prof. Dr. Hasan Akay, Prof. Dr. Ali Yazıcı, and Prof. Dr. Ender Keskinkılıç.