School of Foreign Languages Department of Modern Languages The Other Foreign Languages Unit is tasked with providing students who choose a foreign language other than English basic language skills to learn and practice foreign languages such as Spanish, Russian, German, French and Japanese. However, if needed and requested by students, when the required minimum number of students is reached, other languages other than the ones mentioned above can be offered as non-technical elective courses.  This unit consists of part-time lecturers under the chairmanship of the Deputy Head of the DML.